I’m sorry… that’s never happened before

21Apr09

I tend not to write to much really personal stuff on here, but wanted to record a certain moment and the blog seemed as good a place as any. This evening, while putting in the hours of the office, I was dumbfounded by something that came on the radio – stopped in my tracks, hairs on the back of my neck standing up, that kind of feeling… something I’ve not felt on hearing a piece of music for literally years. BBC 6 Music’s Gideon Coe played a retrospective John Martyn session from nearly 30 years ago. Embarrassingly, I don’t know his material anything like as well as I should, so when his  “Certain Surprise / Couldn’t Love You More” came on, I had no idea what it was, but given the effect it had on me, I feel compelled to share it. Here’s the Spotify link, it would certainly make my “play safe” list! And for those without Spotify, here’s a video:

