Shoreditch Twit #5 sets a trend

14Jan09

“I said you wanna be startin’ somethin’
You got to be startin’ somethin’
I said you wanna be startin’ somethin’
You got to be startin’ somethin'”

So said Michael Jackson at some point. Anyway, it seems as if holding Twitter meetups in Shoreditch has hit the mainstream. It was announced this week that London’s next iteration of Twestival (the Tweetup to rule them all) will be held at Shoreditch Studios on February 12th. The folks behind Twestival and the more recent Twinterval are doing a great job with their events and I’m glad to see that they’re copying taking inspiration from The Shoreditch Twit in terms of picking the best neighbourhood in London to hold the event. In fact, it “validates the market” –  a phrase from tech PR-land which spokespeople use when Microsoft or Cisco buys their biggest competitor.

Joking aside, they’re very different events, and it’s great to see 70 cities registered to take part in a global Twestival next month. In the meantime, Shoreditch Twit #5 will show its ugly face on January 26th at The Elbow Room, Curtain Road. It’s a Monday night, so see it as a warm-up to the ‘ditch’s blow out in a few weeks, an opportunity to catch up with regular and new faces, a time to find out a bit more about future Twits and what we’ve got planned for 2009, and a chance to beat me at pool… seriously, I’m rubbish.

Deets…
Monday 26th January
The Elbow Room, 97-113 Curtain Road, Shoreditch, EC2A 3BS (map here)
Time: From 7.00pm

As always, RSVP to @shoreditchtwit or leave a comment here so that we have an idea of numbers.

14 Responses to “Shoreditch Twit #5 sets a trend”

  1. 1 jazcummins

    Lol, as usual, others follow where Lewis leads.

    See you there!

  2. 2 Lolly

    Should make it too!

  3. Great – will be good to see both of you there!

  4. Looking forward to it!

  5. I’m as well!

  6. Yep, I’ll be there!

  7. I’m new… but I saw a few familiar faces from Tuttle, so maybe I’ll try to show up and not look totally out of place. 😀

  8. I haven’t been to any social media stuff for ages so will be there !

  9. See y’all there!

  10. 10 Estelle

    I d like to come!

  11. Pffff (french way of moaning…), I’ve left my N95 at the Elbow Room :-((

    Let’s all pray that they can find it tomorrow !

  12. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality
    articles or weblog posts in this kind of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i’m glad to show that I have an incredibly good uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I most surely will make certain to do not forget this site and give it a look on a relentless basis.


  1. 1 Twestival - get involved! « heleana quartey
  2. 2 Dear London Town » My Top 5 of 2009

