Get dapper

04Oct08

Spotted the Gieves & Hawkes AW08 suits on a recent iluwfashion post, and they’re simply gorgeous! They make the traditionally “older” three-piece and double-breasted styles look young, fresh and totally wearable by someone in their late 20s (uhh, me). The suggestion that students returning to campus should nip out and buy one is a little tongue in cheek, but I love the idea of rocking up to PH:221 20 minutes late, pulling out a pocket watch from my waistcoat and then simultaneously tapping it whilst shaking my head in disbelief.

My little daydreams aside, now’s the time to mention that Brideshead Revisited is released to cinemas this weekend. Brideshead Revisited is based on the 1945 novel by Evelyn Waugh, set in the years leading up to the Second World War. It was first translated to the screen in the 1981 BBC adaptation starring Jeremy Irons and Anthony Andrews. So it’ll be interesting to see what the lastest version has in store – my prediction is that the costumes – at least – will be a visual feast for the eyes (start listening to this awesome podcast to get the reference).

